Home

TED has accumulated a wealth of videos. Three day weekends afford me the luxury of reviewing some of my favorites, like Paul Bennett on user centric design. He walks through several examples of designing new products, my favorite of which is storage for children. Children, he says, perceive space differently than adults – they live on things, under things and around things. This nonlinear living requires a dramatically different solution.

Witnessing a user in the eureka moment when using a product makes the work in design all worthwhile. With great products, there is always a moment when I think to myself, “Somebody knew I would use it this way! And this makes my life so much better.” That moment is exhilarating for both the user and the designer.

Here is the video:

http://video.ted.com/assets/player/swf/EmbedPlayer.swf