Home

Plus is ubiquitous. Today, I found a button to add Kara Swisher in my Google Search results for ecommerce stats. Then I went to YouTube. Marissa Mayer had posted a video of her dance for Ed Lee that she had shared on Google+ six days ago. Google Plus is featured on two of the top ten largest websites.

It’s still unclear to me what kind of network Google Plus will become. Which groups will use the service? What kinds of sharing will become predominant? What kind of vibe it have? But it seems to me it serves quite a few use cases. In addition to the two public broadcasting use cases above, Google Plus has the capacity to build private networks.

Over the past few days, I’ve been playing with Path again. The notion of restricting a social network to no more than 150 people resonates with me. My Facebook network is unwieldy at 800 friends. It’s a challenge to determine who my readers are. After all, the feed filters content to the “relevant readers” so I’m not sure who is reading my posts.

I told my wife this weekend that we should move to Path to share our photos with our families. She asked me, “Couldn’t we do that with Google Plus?” And she had a point. If I created the right circle, I can replicate Path’s use case in Google Plus. Given the choice of recording photos with a service that I know will be around for many years, I chose to use Plus.

I think that over time, millions of users will make the same decision. I could use another service, but Google Plus is already plugged into all the tools I use and it’s flexible enough to do what I need. Google Plus’ path to success is a user’s path of least resistance.

One thought on “Google Plus’s Success is the Path of Least Resistance

  1. Pingback: Is YouTube Driving Google+ User Growth? « ex post facto

Comments are closed.