Home

Over the weekend, I visited the Walt Disney Museum in San Francisco. I came away amazed at how prolific Disney was cinematographic work, but also how much he impacted the American culture with efforts like Disney World, Disney Land and EPCOT center. One of the best experiences were interactive stations where a large touch enabled surface controlled an even larger screen.

I could select characters from different movies, drag different elements around with my fingers. It felt similar to combining a 30 inch iPad with a 60 inch display. Nothing short of liberating, I stood mesmerized wondering how I could get one for my desk.

Windows

The window paradigm for using a computer has been around since the Apple Lisa in the early 80s. But over the past two years, we’ve been migrating to new UI paradigms.

Mobile has dramatically changed the way we interact with content. With highly use case specific applications on the iPhone, we no longer deal with windows, but full screen experiences. These UIs dramatically simplify our experiences very much for the better. Great examples of these design principles on the web are thesixtyone.com and Google Reader Play.  The sense of panes disappear in these applications. The 10/GUI video is even more amazing: 

http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=6712657&server=vimeo.com&show_title=1&show_byline=1&show_portrait=0&color=&fullscreen=1

10/GUI from C. Miller on Vimeo.

Touch (and multi-touch) is enabling this change in UI. Without a mouse, the resolution of our pointers (fingers), is much smaller because our fingers are much larger than mouse pointers. So designers have to achieve the same with less space, distilling simplicity out of application design. 

I’m excited about the iPad and am looking forward to controlling my tv and I hope my computer through it’s interface. 

